From the Clarinet D'Amour to the Contra Bass:
A History of Large Size Clarinets, 1740-1860


著  者:Albert R.Rice
出版社:Oxford University Press
页  数:463页
包  装:paperback

This book is the first detailed study of the history and development of six large size clarinets: clarinet d’amour, alto clarinet, basset horn, bass clarinet, contra alto clarinet, and contra bass clarinet from 1740 to 1860. The majority of extant instruments are described and discussed, along with extant music of the period. Some of the most memorable and important music written includes Mozart’s Serenade in B for thirteen instruments, Beethoven’s basset horn solo in The Creatures of Prometheus, and Meyerbeer’s bass clarinet solo in Les Huguenots.

An accomplished clarinetist, Albert R. Rice is also former curator of the Fiske Museum of Musical Instruments, Claremont, California, a professional librarian, and author of The Baroque Clarinet (OUP, 1992) and The Clarinet in the Classical Period (OUP, 2003).

"In his latest volume on the history of the clarinet, Albert Rice has once again given us a definitive reference work. His knowledge of the instrument's organological development and repertoire is encyclopedic. This book on the large-size clarinets is, as usual, impeccably researched, providing thorough coverage of this important but neglected topic. In addition to astonishing amounts of detail on makers, designs, and music, the checklists of extant instruments are invaluable. Scholars and clarinetists alike owe Dr. Rice a debt of gratitude for this superb book."
—— Jane Ellsworth, Assistant Professor of Music, Eastern Washington University

"As in his previous two books, The Baroque Clarinet and The Clarinet in the Classical Period, Dr. Rice provides an astounding amount of material in From the Clarinet d'Amour to the Contrabass. Here, in one source, is encyclopedic information about low clarinets. The attention to detail is amazing. Everything is well documented, too. Not only will this new book take its place with the other two in being an essential compendium of information, the documentation will serve to inspire additional research and investigation. This is another 'must have' volume for any serious study of early clarinet."
—— Deborah Check Reeves, Curator of Education and Associate Professor of Music, National Music Museum, The University of South Dakota